About us

The Implement Petrology Group is a forum for colleagues with a wide variety of interests to share their research and perspectives on stone axe production, use and discard. Members include experimental archaeologists, petrologists, museum curators, freelance lithic experts, and prehistorians.

A brief history of the Group can be found here

Membership is by invitation from an existing group member, but we are always pleased to welcome individuals to group meetings and to support colleague’s work where we can.

If you would like to learn more about the group please contact the Web Officer in the first instance.

Officers 2013 – 2016

Dr Vin Davis
Chairman and Chief Petrologist

Professor Gabriel Cooney
Vice Chair

Professor Mark Edmonds
Vice Chair

Dr Mik Markham

Dr Tom Clare

Mr Pete Topping
Events Officer

Dr Steve Burrow
Web Officer
steve.burrow99 AT gmail DOT com

Executive Committee 2013 – 2016

Dr Richard Bevins

Professor Tim Darvill

Dr David Field

Dr Alison Sheridan

Dr Gill Varndell

Leave a Reply